top of page
IMG_0001.jpg

MAN VS THE WORLD

Search
Writer's pictureDarnell Lowe

Why am I blogging?

Updated: Oct 28, 2018


So I decided to start a blog for the first time ever. The irony of this is I struggled with English courses throughout elementary, junior high, and high school. It was by far my weakest subject. I was somehow put into an AP English class in high school, which I of course failed with an F, and had to go to night school so I can graduate on time. I received straight A’s in math and science though. My brain works in mysterious ways. Obviously, I never considered myself a good writer, which caused me to shy away from it as much as possible. I mention these things so you’ll understand that doing this puts me in a vulnerable and scary position. Worrying about how others receive my writing is a real fear, but despite this I promise you authenticity. I believe in perpetually living outside of your comfort zone. This is how I try to approach every aspect of my life, which you can ascertain from the following example.


Four years ago, on a whim, I quit a good paying federal job with great benefits because I was unhappy. I hated being micromanaged. I hated being told when I was allowed to work, go to the bathroom, or take time off. I hated the amount of politics that came with the job. I realized my piece of mind is worth so much more than financial security. Was it risky? Yes, but it was one of the best decisions of my life. Prior to quitting, I had a conversation with an acquaintance who boasted about how amazing their visit to Italy was. This conversation remained in my mind long after. I decided that with my new found freedom from an employer, I was booking a trip to Italy. This began the first of many solo trips around the globe, which brings me to why I created a blog.


As a result of my trips, I have numerous stories from my adventures that have gone untold, well until now. This blog will mainly serve as an outlet to document past, present, and future travel. I’ll be sharing my high and low points, cool people I’ve encountered, and my experiences as a black man in foreign countries. I’ll also be sharing pertinent travel tips that may help those with a desire to see more of this beautiful planet. Even if nobody reads my posts, at the very least I’ll have something to look back on in the future for personal enjoyment. Welcome.


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentar


Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

CONTACT

Your details were sent successfully!

Home: Contact
bottom of page